History of MAALL - 1970s







The first annual meeting, pursuant to the constitution, took place on June 7, 1974, in scenic Jefferson City, Missouri. After Jean Ashman retired, Roger Jacobs assumed the presidency, and D.A. Divilbiss was elected Vice President/President Elect.

The next annual meeting of MAALL was held on January 31, 1975, at the newly constructed St. Louis University Law Library. After Marcia Koslov moved to Wisconsin, Gerry Bosler was elected Secretary/Treasurer.

Roger Jacobs presented the petition for chapter status of MAALL to the Executive Board of AALL in June 1975. The petition was received favorably, and MAALL became a chapter of AALL at that time. During 1975, MAALL held meetings in January, June, and November.

On October 23, 1976, D.A. Divilbiss became MAALL President during the annual meeting in the picturesque Missouri Supreme Court Building in Jefferson City. Charley Dyer was elected Secretary/Treasurer, and Bob Kelley was elected Vice President/President Elect. The educational program centered around the legislative and administrative history of Missouri, the Missouri Register, and the Code of State Regulations.

For the fourth annual meeting held on October 21-22, 1977, MAALL traveled outside Missouri to the Southern Illinois University School of Law, where Roger Jacobs and Elizabeth Slusser Kelly greeted the registrants. The general theme of the educational segment was administrative law. The majority of the discussions were prepared by members of MAALL.

The fifth annual meeting of MAALL took place on October 13-14, 1978 in the Lakeside Center for the Study of Youth Development, in Boys Town, Nebraska. President D.A. Divilbiss welcomed forty law librarians to a professional program on new and traditional information systems, chaired by Carol Boast. Roger Jacobs flew from Washington, D.C. to discuss the information resources of the Supreme Court. Elizabeth Slusser Kelly was elected Vice-President/President Elect. Julia O'Neil was elected secretary, and Catherine Koenig was elected Treasurer.

On October 11-12, 1979, fifty librarians attended the sixth annual meeting of MAALL in the stately Mayfair Hotel of the Gateway City, St. Louis. Library management was the general theme of the panels, keynoted by Albert Brecht. The social highlight was to return to the Whittemore House of Washington University, where the MAALL constitution had been approved in 1973.

© Mid-America Association of Law Libraries                
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software