History of MAALL - 1980s











The seventh annual meeting of MAALL was conducted from September 12-13, 1980 within the friendly confines of the University of Iowa Law School, with a side trip to the quaint Amana Colonies. The program committee was chaired by Ann Puckett with the assistance of Kathie Belgum and James H. Gritton. Honored guest at the banquet was Dr. Redmond A. Burke from the Department of Library Science at the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh. The final order of business was the passing of the presidential gavel to Elizabeth Slusser Kelly, under whose administration the currently published MAALL Newsletter, volume l, number l was distributed in October, 1980.

The eighth annual meeting of MAALL took place in the "Sunshine State" of Kansas at the Washburn University Law School on September 11 and 12, 1981. It was preceded by a seminar on Dialog on September 10. Richard Boss, consultant on library systems, gave the registrants up-to-date advice on the technology of microcomputers, telefacsimile machines, and electronic mail. Eileen Searls, Susan Csaky, and Bob Knecht led a panel discussion on conservation of library media. Mark Linneman, who had been serving as MAALL Treasurer, flew to a library directorship in Melbourne, Australia, after transferring the fund and records to Sharon Pickett, the new Treasurer.

The ninth annual meeting of Mid-America Association of Law Libraries drew a large attendance to the newly constructed Hiram H. Lesar Law Building of Southern Illinois University in Carbondale, Illinois. The star attraction was the law library, which featured all the latest technology of the information age as well as a rare book room to preserve the bibliographic treasures of the past. MAALL members presented an educational panel on administration and management of law libraries. At the conclusion of the meeting, Carol Boast assumed the presidency, and Eileen Searls became President Elect. Joan Ahrens became Secretary, and Sharon Pickett continued as Treasurer.

The tenth annual meeting of MAALL was held at Marriott's Tan-Tar-A Resort at the Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri on November 10-12, 1983. Despite the lovely setting, the meetings were well attended, with a focus on legal database services and information technology. For the first time, MAALL invited vendors to exhibit at the annual meeting, which proved to be a popular decision. Jim Hoover and Roger Jacobs spoke at the meeting. MAALL Union List agents met through the coordination of Marilyn Nicely.

On October 11-13, 1984, the eleventh annual meeting of MAALL was held at the University of Illinois, in Champaign-Urbana. Unfortunately, Carol Boast's new position as Head of the University of Illinois Agriculture Library caused her, in accordance with MAALL by-laws prohibiting anyone not officially connected with a law library from holding an office in the association, to resign the MAALL presidency as of August 21, 1984. Thus, Eileen Searls conducted the business meeting in Champaign. Many prominent speakers were featured from within and outside the Association, including AALL President Jacqui Jurkins, Jerry Dupont, and Sally Wiant. "Management" at many levels was discussed. Eileen Searls became President, and Katherine Belgum became Vice President/President Elect shortly prior to the meeting. Sharon O'Donoghue became Treasurer, and Avis Forsman became Secretary.

The twelfth annual meeting was held in Tulsa, Oklahoma on October 24-26, 1985. The theme of the meeting was "Managing Resources and Environment." The meeting proper was preceded by a pre-conference program on teaching computer-assisted legal research, sponsored by Mead Data Central. Laura Gasaway, AALL Vice President/President Elect, spoke at the opening luncheon as well as the first afternoon session. Another highlight was the presentation by University of Tulsa psychologists Robert T. Hogan and Eric T. Nelson on managing stress and its effects.

The Clarion Hotel in St. Louis was the site of the thirteenth annual meeting of MAALL on October 30 through November 1, 1986. This year's program focused on business reference sources for the law librarian. Kathie Belgum became President at this meeting; Peter Schanck became Vice President/President Elect; and James Milles was elected Secretary. Sharon O'Donoghue had to step down as Treasurer when she joined Mead Data Central, and Hal Brown, who had been appointed acting Treasurer, was elected to that position.

The fourteenth annual meeting took the members of MAALL to the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Kansas City. At the opening luncheon, Judge Deanell R. Tacha of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit, spoke on constitutional law in the courts. The subject of that year's program was laser disc technology with exhibits by several laser disc and CD-ROM vendors being featured.

MAALL held its fifteenth annual meeting in Iowa City, Iowa, home of Kathie Belgum, on October 20-22, 1988. The meeting included a wide spectrum of programs within the MAALL acronym: Management, Acquisition, Automation, and Law for Law librarians. Highlighting the program were surveys of current developments in law by five knowledgeable and articulate professors on the University of Iowa College of Law faculty. Peter Schanck became the new president at the meeting; Sally Wise was elected Vice President/President Elect; Laurel Wendt became the new Secretary; and Peggy McDermott was elected Treasurer, while Kathie Belgum continued on the Executive Board as immediate past president.

The sixteenth annual meeting constituted a radical departure for MAALL. It joined together with five other AALL chapters (Chicago, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio Regional, and Wisconsin) covering 15 states to hold a super-regional meeting in Chicago on October 26-28, 1989. The meeting, called the Midwest Regional Conference of Law Librarians, included a large array of programs and several well known outside speakers such as Dean Herbert White of the University of Indiana Library Science School. MAALL members John Edwards and Lori Hunt served as co-chairs of the very busy and successful Program Committee.

© Mid-America Association of Law Libraries                
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software